Save on Pinterest

The Best Vegan Candy to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth

Finding vegan candy is surprisingly easy—these classic treats avoid animal-based ingredients for the perfect snack or indulgence.

1 / 10
Candy aisleShutterstock / Sheila Fitzgerald

New to Vegan Candy? Here’s What to Look For

While vegan versions of recipes are typically on the healthier side—going vegan doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice your sweets! (Check out these homemade vegan dessert recipes.) You just have to know how to navigate the candy aisle:

  • Aside from avoiding obvious non-vegan ingredients like eggs and dairy, keep an eye out for other add-ins that incorporate animal products, like gelatin; shellac, which adds a glossy appearance; and carmine, which lends a deep, red color.
  • Also, refined cane sugar is often not vegan, though it can be if it’s organic.
  • If you’re in doubt, check for a certified vegan seal on the product or reach out to the candy’s manufacturer.

In the meantime, satisfy your sweet tooth with these top-rated vegan ice cream brands.

2 / 10


Wrigley recently removed animal ingredients from Skittles so vegans and vegetarians can enjoy the tangy treat. However, there may still be some non-vegan products on the market, like limited edition flavors, so it’s important to check the label just to be safe. When you’re in the candy aisle be sure to grab these vegan chocolate bars to balance out the fruity sweetness of the Skittles!

Shop Now

3 / 10


The roll of candy tablets is another classic sweet that vegans can happily eat! All Smarties Candy made by the company is vegan, along with being gluten-free, peanut-free and dairy-free.

Shop Now

4 / 10
Sour Patch Kidsvia

Sour Patch Kids

Good vegan gummy candy can be hard to come by, which is why we’re thrilled that one of our favorites, Sour Patch Kids, is vegan. Want to mix it up? Sour Patch Watermelons are also vegan, if those are more your weakness. Make sure to balance out all of that candy with some yummy vegan meals!

Shop Now

5 / 10
Dum Dumsvia

Dum Dums

Dum Dums are a lollipop classic—and animal-product free! All flavors of the waiting room staple are vegan, including the mystery and root beer flavors (and use some real root beer to make a float with this homemade vegan vanilla ice cream).

Shop Now

6 / 10


Cute, delicious and easy to eat an entire box in one sitting—Dots are a mainstay in Candyland. Despite their chewy texture, they’re free of gelatin, making them perfect for sleepovers or movie nights.

Shop Now

7 / 10
Red Vinesvia

Red Vines

We love turning Red Vines into straws, and we couldn’t be happier that all flavors of the licorice candy are vegan-friendly.

Shop Now

8 / 10


Some people are Red Vines people, some are Twizzlers people. Whatever your preference, both are free of any animal products. Even better, all Twizzlers products are vegan-friendly, so you can enjoy the classic strawberry twists and the sour mini twists.

Shop Now

9 / 10
Pixy Stixvia

Pixy Stix

These sugary sticks were originally intended to be drink mix, but became the Pixy Stix we know and love after kids started eating the powder straight out of the package. Made without any animal products, they’re a perfect vegan candy.

Shop Now

10 / 10
Swedish Fishvia

Swedish Fish

While real fish may be off the table, Swedish fish are fair game. The red chewy candy from Sweden is animal product- and fat-free, making it the perfect catch (we couldn’t help ourselves) for a range of diets.

Shop Now

Newsletter Unit

CMU Unit

Subscribe & SAVE Save Up To 80%!