Back to Potluck Spareribs

Print Options

 
 
 
 

Card Sizes

 
 
 
 Print
Potluck Spareribs Recipe

Potluck Spareribs Recipe

When I want to bring home an empty pan from a potluck, I turn to this recipe. The ribs disappear in minutes! —Sheri Kirkman, Lancaster, New York
TOTAL TIME: Prep: 10 min. Bake: 1-3/4 hours YIELD:12 servings

Ingredients

  • 6 pounds pork spareribs
  • 1-1/2 cups ketchup
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

  • 1. Cut ribs into serving-size pieces; place with the meaty side up on racks in two greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking pans. Cover tightly with foil. Bake at 350° for 1-1/4 hours or until meat is tender.
  • 2. Remove racks; drain and return ribs to pans. Combine the remaining ingredients; pour over ribs. Bake, uncovered, for 30-40 minutes or until sauce coats ribs, basting occasionally. Ribs can also be grilled over medium-hot heat for the last 30-40 minutes instead of baking. Yield: 12 servings.

Nutritional Facts

1 each: 551 calories, 32g fat (12g saturated fat), 128mg cholesterol, 1065mg sodium, 34g carbohydrate (28g sugars, trace fiber), 32g protein

Reviews for Potluck Spareribs

Sort By :
MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 20, 2016 Edited May. 29, 2016

"Excellent!!! Made twice so far exactly as written (with the addition of a sprinkle of cayenne in the sauce) and loved by all. Forgot, I also decreased the sugar to 1/2 c."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Aug. 17, 2015

"This is an amazing recipe. I have made this 3 times in the last month or so as it is highly requested. fall off the bone delicious!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jul. 29, 2015

"This recipe is fantastic although it was a little too sweet for my family's taste so on my next try I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup. Also, I put the ribs in the crockpot for about 5 hours instead of baking them--so much easier."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 28, 2015

"Very good, we've tried cooking the last 45 minutes on the grill or in the oven and both times had amazing results."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 31, 2015

"Too sweet for our taste"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 25, 2015

"My family loved this recipe. I had never made ribs before, and wanted to do them for our Memorial Day meal. They turned out so tasty and tender and have been asked to make again next weekend by my mother in law, who said she loved it so much, she dreamed about them last night. My husband liked them so much, he went back for seconds. We poured a bit of the sauce over the rice to make it more yummy."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 23, 2015

"Did the ribs in my crock pot and they were excellent. The sauce is absolutey delicious. Agree with GregH3000 about skipping the soy sauce and using Bragg's Aminos. Not healthy or wise to use soy sauce. Great recipe."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 23, 2015

"Warning: Most modern soy foods are not fermented to neutralize toxins in soybeans, and are processed in a way that denatures proteins and increases levels of carcinogens. So skip the soy sauce and use a safe and healthier substitute like Bragg's Aminos."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 22, 2015

"This is a great recipe. I make ribs on the grill all summer and into the fall. We like them in the winter also. So, this is a great oven recipe."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 2, 2015

"Love the ribs. I use baby backs and get rave reviews. The ginger really adds another level of flavor. Even good as left overs (if you have any left!)!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 2, 2015

"these are phenominally good...i did the last cooking with the sauce on the grill..yummy!!!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Sep. 2, 2014

"I used country style ribs. Very tasty, meat was tender, sauce was delicious!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 8, 2014

"Had a few people over for dinner and they really enjoyed them. When I baked the ribs in the oven I used my meatball baker pan and covered them with foil. It was amazing how much grease drained through the pans grid and still they were moist. Put them on the grill, slathered them with the delicious sauce and you have healthier ribs. Will definitely make again."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 3, 2014

"This recipe is the best! I make these for get togethers and always have them baked the day before, pour the sauce over and don't put them back in the oven, cool them completely and refrigerate. The day of the event put them on the grill basting with the sauce until you get nice grill marks on both sides, this does not take long. I also cook the sauce to thicken it a bit. We have used this sauce on chicken which was also delicious."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 2, 2014

"I only did one thing different, I added 2 TBS sriracha, because we like it kicked up. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jan. 29, 2014

"My whole family really enjoyed these ribs. I used Country Style ribs pork ribs. The sauce was absolutely delicious. I even scooped as much up from the pan as I could so we could add more to the ribs as we were eating them. This recipe will definitely be made a gain. It was very easy and very little work."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jan. 4, 2014

"They were moist, they were tender, they were juicy and had excellent flavor. That's my husband's quote of these delicious ribs. My MIL loves them, as well. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe with us. Not difficult to prepare."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Nov. 8, 2013

"This recipe is a keeper! Used 4lbs of meat and 1/2 recipe. Didn't use rack; after 30 minutes had to raise my oven temp to 375; drained liquid after 1 hour; poured sauce over all meat and baked another 30 minutes. It is a lick your fingers good! Thank you Sheri for sharing!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jul. 10, 2013

"I made these ribs for my husband & I on July 4th. I purchased about 3 1/2 lbs. St. Louis Style ribs & made 1/2 recipe of the sauce. I did not put them on a rack to bake them for the 1 1/4 hrs., I drained them well before adding the sauce, the finished ribs were not greasy!! These ribs are soooo good. The sauce is just excellent, I made it exactly as written and would not change a thing. I reheated the leftovers in the oven and they were even better. Thanks, Sheri, for this great easy recipe."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jul. 8, 2013

"I made this exactly as stated and it was wonderful!! I think next time though, instead of cooking the meat an initially 1-1/4 hours, I would increase that time to 1-1/2 hours to increase tenderness."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 11, 2013

"I will never buy bottled sauce again.

This is the best recipe we have ever tasted. I will be making this many times this summer for family and friends. Thank-you for sharing."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 2, 2013 Edited May. 1, 2014

"I love that I had everything on hand for this simple but delicious recipe. Its my new favorite pork rib/BBQ sauce recipe. I doubled the amount of sauce to jar for another time & am glad I did. I love black pepper, so I doubled it, if you like heat..jack it up. It is sticky sweet, lick your fingers good. I also made it on the stove and let it reduce & blend. I baked country ribs uncovered. Would be a good recipe for company..tastes like famous ribs from a long gone restaurant. Bobby Rubinos. Can't wait to make it again."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jun. 1, 2013

"Looking fwd. to making these soon; have not yet had pleasure since we've become empty nesters. Although it does not seem fair of me to make this comment, the only thing I would do differently is use Pace Mild Picante Sauce instead of ketchup. Thank you for sharing!!! K."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 28, 2013

"I cooked these ribs yesterday and they were absolutely delicious. I made just a small rack of ribs since it was only for my husband and me. Well, I was sorry that I didn't make two! Happily, even though I just made one-third of the sauce mix, I had some leftover, so we'll be having these ribs again very soon."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 26, 2013

"Best ribs ever!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 26, 2013

"They came out delicious. I have baked my ribs before in a similar manner. I don't use a rack. For the most part the bones keep the meat from soaking in the fat. But the super health conscious may decide to use one. I cooked St. Louis style ribs for 1:15 mins. Then put the sauce on it and only basted halfway into the 35 minutes. For the sauce, after putting the ingredients together, I put them in a pot and heated them thru for about 10 to 20 minutes before putting them on the ribs. I also added a little bit of sesame oil to give them a little more of an Asian taste. My whole family really enjoyed them. They are very sweet, that may be the only thing I change next time (less sugar, that's why I like to cook the sauce before putting on the ribs, you can tweak it a bit). We will definately make these again."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 25, 2013

"I clipped this recipe when it came out in the magazine...several years ago. It's been the only recipe I use ever since. It's delicious, easy and a year 'round favorite."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 25, 2013

"Folks watch the BBQ Contests where folks are 'slaving away' for 24 hours to get 'Good Eats.'

This is a 'no brainier,' and drop dead good. Enjoy your company while the meals in the oven. Do the Hamberg's/Dog's on the 'Q.'"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Apr. 23, 2013

"So yummy! This sauce was so good that I will probably never buy it in a bottle again! I did not know that ribs would be this easy to make."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 24, 2012

"I use country-style ribs and bake them for 2 hours initially. This is one of my all-time favorite recipes and I wouldn't use any other for ribs. Outstanding."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jan. 19, 2011

"Some of the best spare ribs I have ever cooked. This is my go-to recipe now. Even if I change the sauce up a bit, depending what I have on hand, the cooking method and time can't be beat! Easy, tender, tasty and cooking method lower the fat content considerably. What more could you ask for except more napkins?"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed May. 22, 2010 Edited Jan. 4, 2015

"Absolutely fall off the bone yummy! I didn't have white vinegar so used white wine vinegar and it came out great"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jan. 26, 2010

"This is our favorite recipe for spareribs. Everyone who has tried these love them."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Jan. 6, 2010

"Very easy to make...great flavour...will definitely make again."

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Nov. 17, 2009

"This was a very easy recipe. I'll definitely be making it again!"

MY REVIEW
Reviewed Oct. 1, 2009

"I was impressed with this recipe. The ribs were finger-lickin good!!"

Loading Image

Wine Pairings

Light-Bodied White Wine

Enjoy this recipe with a light-bodied white wine such as Sauvignon Blanc or Pinot Grigio.