Back to Chicken Spareribs

Print Options

 
 
 
 

Card Sizes

 
 
 
 Print
Chicken Spareribs Recipe

Chicken Spareribs Recipe

Inexpensive chicken thighs get all gussied up in a zippy sparerib-style sauce that's irresistable. Janice Porterfield of Atlanta, Texas shared the recipe.
TOTAL TIME: Prep: 5 min. Cook: 30 min. YIELD:4 servings

Ingredients

  • 8 bone-in chicken thighs (about 3 pounds)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons cold water

Directions

  • 1. In a Dutch oven, brown chicken over medium heat in oil in batches on both sides; drain. Return all of the chicken to the pan.
  • 2. In a large bowl, combine the water, brown sugar, soy sauce, apple juice, ketchup, vinegar, garlic, pepper flakes and ginger; pour over chicken. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 180°.
  • 3. Remove chicken to a platter and keep warm. Combine cornstarch and water until smooth; stir into cooking juices. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Serve with chicken. Yield: 4 servings.

Nutritional Facts

2 each: 583 calories, 26g fat (6g saturated fat), 116mg cholesterol, 2753mg sodium, 48g carbohydrate (41g sugars, 0g fiber), 37g protein .

Reviews for Chicken Spareribs

Sort By :
MY REVIEW
plumshoe 94260
Reviewed Sep. 16, 2014

"I made these for dinner tonight and it's delicious. Thank you very much for sharing your recipe."

MY REVIEW
lmmanda 146575
Reviewed Apr. 8, 2014

"We liked this after I played with the sauce some, I added more ketchup because the soy sauce was a little over powering."

MY REVIEW
s_pants 116682
Reviewed Apr. 1, 2014

"I thought this was very good, I was just not overly impressed. Simple to put together."

MY REVIEW
Cara Staviski 147523
Reviewed Nov. 20, 2012

"YUM!"

MY REVIEW
vewebber58 94208
Reviewed Mar. 2, 2012

"These were okay. The idea is a good one, but the sauce had a bitterness to it that we didn't like, which I think was due to the soy sauce. There was also a lot of sauce to throw away....wasted ingredients. We may like them better with a sauce that doesn't have the soy in it. I love soy sauce in many things, but not in this case."

MY REVIEW
loves2cooknopks 146574
Reviewed Feb. 4, 2012

"Sliced mushrooms and sliced water chestnuts are an excellant edition to this recipe. Just add when the liquid ingredients are added to the chicken."

MY REVIEW
suwest 146568
Reviewed Dec. 6, 2011

"I have been making this for 2 yrs now, always yummy and my husband loves it which is saying alot since he isn't a huge chicken fan. The sauce is indeed the best and you could use it for other meats, I would think it would be great on pork."

MY REVIEW
LibbiPeach@cox.net 147119
Reviewed Sep. 21, 2011

"I concur with everyone else, very tasty, and just wish i'd had more chicken after it was all gone."

MY REVIEW
ybowker 116678
Reviewed Sep. 1, 2011

"Wow! If you closed your eyes and ate the chicken you would think you were eating ribs! Saved the sauce to use for another time. Will definitely be using this sauce recipe again and again."

MY REVIEW
foodeater 74941
Reviewed Mar. 17, 2011

"OMG, this recipe is amazing. i made this on a whim because i had all the ingredients and i was looking for something different. my entire family went nuts for it. the sauce is amazing. my boyfriend saved the leftover sauce and put it on pretty much everything he ate for the next couple of days. he thinks the sauce is better than any store bought BBQ sauce he has ever had. definitely will be making this for many many many years to come."

MY REVIEW
12chica29 161985
Reviewed Oct. 29, 2010

"Great flavor! Easy to make! Also excellent with steamed rice. You should definately try it."

MY REVIEW
sharvey 208493
Reviewed Apr. 1, 2009

"i use boneless thighs.

This is a family favorite! Hubby requests it for his birthday and my son requests it at least once a month!"

MY REVIEW
irma owens 94230
Reviewed Feb. 27, 2009

"I have been browning the chkn with the skin on after it is browned remove the skin stays a little moister that way, may need to take a little oil from bottom of pot"

Loading Image

Wine Pairings

Light-Bodied White Wine

Enjoy this recipe with a light-bodied white wine such as Sauvignon Blanc or Pinot Grigio.